Profile image for FabExe

Hi - lets start a debate on this new topic.

I'm a trader in Exmouth who has a shop and sells coffee etc. to the general public. I struggle to get by in Winter and pay a large amount of my turnover to East Devon District Council as business rates.

Now imagine my thoughts when a 'tricycle' appears in town selling coffees etc. firstly near the train station and then wherever he likes. 'Good for him' I hear you say, but hold on - isn't street trading in Exmouth banned? It is. Although he 'says' he has applied for a 'Peddlars' licence from the Police (this dictates however that he should move from town to town to be regarded as a peddlar), in my eyes he is trading illegally.

My reasons for this are:

a) I pay more business rates in 1 week than he pays in 10 (yes 10) YEARS for his peddlars licence.

b) He is not moving from 'town to town' rather just around the Exmouth area.

c) We all have to abide by the regulations - NO STREET TRADING - else we'd all go and spend 5% of what it costs to buy a coffee shop and go and buy a 2 grand trike...

Being objective - It is a good idea yes, but it needs to be out of town where it does not unfairly compete with other traders trying to make a living. Cycle path to Exeter, Woodbury car parks or suchlike. Even Exmouth one day a week but certainly not 7 days a week. At the moment he can intercept the best trade wherever he likes and just swan off, leaving us traders standing at the door wondering why customers are just walking past...

We pay EDDC for the privilege to trade and also expect them to protect this privilege..

By FabExe at 10:14 on 07/04/11

Re-post           

• Profile image for The Bespoke Café Co

An interesting topic that should be debated.

Thank you for being objective. I appreciate that times are tough out there, and businesses are not helped by the large sums that EDDC charge in business rates.